My Fat Heart

Charging full force into the gluten free world with an incredibly fat heart.

Raspberry Almond Date Smoothie

0

DSC_0019-text

Life is about not knowing, having to change, taking the moment and making the best of it, without knowing what’s going to happen next.  Face the facts of being what you are, for that is what changes what you are.  Change the changeable, accept the unchangeable, and remove yourself from the unacceptable. Just like our good friend Oscar Wilde says – “Be yourself because everyone else is taken.”

DSC_0006

Change is never an easy thing, a constant adjustment. I’m learning that. It may be a good change, a bad change, whatever. It is always going to be an adjustment regardless of what happened. Change is a time for self discovery and improvement. Things you didn’t even about yourself emerge to the surface, and you come to realize you are an ever-evolving, wonderful human being. Going through a major adjustment has allowed me to begin thinking about respecting myself more, allowing myself to truly be authentic and never granting anyone the satisfaction of trying to change who I am. Even if they didn’t mean to or weren’t aware they were really hindering my true self. Its a miraculous event to come up from a bad time and say “hey, I am okay and I am a better me.” It is an opportunity to thank people for helping to mould and discover who you are.

DSC_0001

DSC_0020

Along with all the personal growth that comes with change, also comes a new exploration and admiration for interesting and fun recipes. Just because I’m focusing on my own growth doesn’t mean my recipes can’t join in on the fun as well. There really isn’t a better way to experiment with different combinations than in a smoothie. This raspberry almond date smoothie can easily be customizable (ahh, the beauty of smoothies) but I urge you to try it as is the first time. You won’t regret it (and neither will your taste buds).

DSC_0024

1 cup fresh raspberries (alternatively you could use strawberries, blueberries, blackberries or cherries)
2/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
3-4 medjool dates (if your blender is weak, I suggest soaking them in hot water for 5 minutes prior to blending)
1 tbsp ground flax
1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 tbsp lemon juice
1 tbsp almond butter
1/2 tsp cinnamon
ice

1. Place all ingredients in blender and blend until smooth!

What do you think?!

