My Fat Heart

Charging full force into the gluten free world with an incredibly fat heart.

Quick Date-Banana-Nut Oatmeal

4

When I was in my baking class yesterday, we were taken on the journey that is muffins and tea biscuits. The muffins really weren’t the problem, it was the tea biscuits that although were the most appropriate to take out some excess aggression (kneading dough really has that effect for those who haven’t tried, there is no need for anger management), came out of the oven completely oblong and lopsided. Apparently, when making my initial cut with the round cutter, I went on an angle, hence droopy tea biscuits. At least they tasted buttery, and delicious. I just call them special people tea biscuits.

I’ve come to realize that we really don’t get a break to eat lunch (for a 5 hour class… that’s pretty insane!!!) Having that said, I had to eat a bigger, quicker breakfast before I left.

I have an ah-mazing vegan cook book (I’m sure I have mentioned it before), called “The Kind Diet”. Actually written by the star of the movie “Clueless”, Alicia Silverstone. This recipe I adapted from there. It is super fast, amazingly delicious and satisfying, and long lasting in your belly. Seriously, your tummy (and taste buds) will thank you. I know not all of us have the patience to cook oatmeal over the stove top (microwave oatmeal is just gross…), so this works for a quick on the go.

1 cup rolled oats (I used Quaker, you can use instant oatmeal if you like as well)
2 tbsp maple syrup
2 tbsp chopped walnuts
1/2 medium banana, cut into slices
5 dates, pitted & chopped
sea salt, to taste
cinnamon, to taste
tsp plain, fat-free, Greek yogurt
honey (for drizzling on top, could also use maple syrup)

1. Bring a kettle to a boil.
2. Combine oats, maple syrup, walnuts, cinnamon and dates in a bowl. Add a pinch or two of salt, then pour enough hot water to just cover the oats. Don’t put too much or it will be watery.
3. Cover the bowl with a plate until all the water has been absorbed into the oats.
4. Once absorbed, put a teaspoon of Greek yogurt on top, and drizzle with honey.

*Recipe serves 1 – it is a big portion so you could turn this into two servings*

4 thoughts on “Quick Date-Banana-Nut Oatmeal

What do you think?!

